Ireland's Publication for the refinishing & associated Industries

BMW 3 Series Takes Continental Irish Car of the Year Crown

The BMW 3 series has been voted Continental Irish Car of the Year 2013 by the Irish Motoring Writers’ Association. The announcement was made at an awards ceremony today in the Convention Centre Dublin attended by leading figures from the motor industry. It marks the first time that BMW has taken the title.The results were as follows:

1.  BMW 3 Series                                         240 points

2.  Volvo V40                                                220 points

3.  Peugeot 208                                            202 points

The Irish Motoring Writers Association judges awarded points on the basis of criteria ranging from innovation and safety to space, comfort, build quality, driving quality and value for money.

Presenting the award to Michael Nugent, Director of Sales and Marketing, BMW Group Ireland, Paddy Murphy of sponsor, Continental Tyres Ireland, commented: “The BMW 3 Series is a fitting winner of this prestigious award given its renowned efficiency and technological strengths. For some time this series has been a favourite among the business and broader driving public, and the recognition of excellence from the Irish Motoring Writers today will only enhance this standing.”

Paddy Murphy, Continental Tyres Ireland; Michael Nugent, BMW Group Ireland; Model, Daniella Moyles; and Gerry Murphy, Chairman of the Irish Motoring Writers’ Association (IMWA).

Awards were made in five categories:

Continental Irish Small Car of the Year                                          Peugeot 208

Continental Irish Compact Family Car of the Year                      Volvo V40

Continental Irish Family Car of the Year                                        BMW 3 Series

Continental Irish Executive / Luxury Car of the Year                  BMW 6 Series Gran Coupe

Continental Irish Performance Car of the Year                            Toyota GT86

The Continental Irish Van of the Year 2013 title was awarded to the Ford Transit Custom.

The Irish Motoring Writers’ Association has organised the Irish Car of the Year Awards each year for the past 36 years.